House Hunting (April 18, 2013)

April 18, 2013 § 1 Comment

In the Jewish culture, the number 36 is significant: twice 18, which is the numeric value of chai. When today’s prompt asked us to use the same word for the beginning and the end of a poem, I wanted something random. I took the 36th word on the 36th page of my closest book (nothing 36ish about the book, The Group), and used it. Yes, if you look closely I cheated and put ‘my’ in front of the first word, but I used the same phrase at the beginning and the end.


House Hunting

My room calls for me — beyond the sky,
surrounded by spinning orbs and freckled stars.
Watch me float, dizzy with fear and joy.
Send Bradbury to hold my hand
or have a majestic angel purse his lips
and drive me even farther.
Please let me find in space my room.  

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to House Hunting (April 18, 2013)

  • Billy says:

    Very nicely stated…a place of belonging…a sense of belonging is tantamount to inner peace :+) and as always, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading House Hunting (April 18, 2013) at Flutter and Muse.


