Winning (April 12, 2013)

April 12, 2013 § Leave a comment

https://i1.wp.com/www.dec.ny.gov/images/administration_images/0412foresto.jpgDay 12, day 12, day 12! And today, I wrote also for Drash Pit, so I am giving myself extra credit, a tiny red star (I always liked the red ones better than the gold.) It was easier today because I was home ill, and had psychological and literal time to write.

The prompt? “ … write a poem consisting entirely of things you’d like to say, but never would, to a parent, lover, sibling, child, teacher, roommate, best friend, mayor, president, corporate CEO, etc.” My poem isn’t the “entirely”, but takes this as a starting point.

Winning

I won’t do this work no more, no matter
what you say, no matter what you threaten.
I’m out of here, I’m gone.

I’ll stay at home and walk the dogs and watch
my feet turn rosy red, I’ll wind my hair in hippie braids,
read all night and drive away my daytime dreams with beer.
I’m here.   I’m really here.

As the money drains away I’ll build a tent with
bamboo stems and cover them with woolen weaves
that keep the wolves away.

And when my cancers ruin me I’ll hold
the rising sun and bless the day.

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Winning (April 12, 2013) at Flutter and Muse.

meta

