Frank Exchange of Views (April 4, 2013)

April 4, 2013 § 3 Comments

SpaceshipI am in a contest to see if I can write the shortest poems ever.

Here’s a contestant, a prose poem, taken from today’s prompt: write a poem with a title drawn from one of Iain M. Banks‘ spaceship names (we were given a long list or told to choose our own from Twitter). I picked the number nine, counted down, and got “Frank Exchange of Views”.  Love it!

Frank Exchange of Views

Let me tell you how you think he said, and I listened patiently, well, perhaps not quite, but curious. And how? I asked.  Like this he said. I watched black beans spill out his mouth, drop off his rounded chin, leap across his t-shirt’s edge and land upon his lap. One crept towards me, a tiny bean with cockroach legs. Enough, I hissed, please go away. When I came to, he puzzled looked and asked, what do you think?  Of course I said you’re right. That’s exactly right.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Frank Exchange of Views (April 4, 2013)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Frank Exchange of Views (April 4, 2013) at Flutter and Muse.

meta

