Anyones (April 1, 2013)

April 2, 2013 § Leave a comment

cherry_pie_2Is it time to write for NaPoWriMo? I think it’s been a couple of years since I have; I’m too lazy to read my archives.  I’m a day late, and who knows how many poems I will write, but today’s email from We Write Poems caught my eye.  I’m using prompts from NaPoWriMo.net, and prompts are key to the process. Are they interesting? Provocative but not impossible?

April 1’s was fine. Use the first line of someone else’s poem.

I chose the line that turns out to be from E.E.Cummings, from a poem I’ve never read: anyone lived in a pretty how town.

Anyones

Anyone lived in a pretty how town
and whispered to the wind
my shoes are new

     Do you see my shine? the crow replies
     No, here! I have a lovely ruff, a squirrel demands

Anyone lived in a pretty how town
and practiced walking backwards
he trips, then falls into a bed

     watch yourself, the roses chide
     be gentle, croon the iris, kind

Anyone lived in a pretty how town
and wishes for the circus
dangling high and free

     the bears and clowns dream
     of cherry pie

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Anyones (April 1, 2013) at Flutter and Muse.

meta

