Creativity Coaching: Dabble Away!

October 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

So, I am feeling some relief with the idea of dabbling. How do I stop the idea from drifting away? How do I keep it constant? How do you keep yourself constant? Or is this an unrealistic expectation? It is, isn’t it.

Damn it. 

Hi, _______,

So, before I answer your questions about dreams and plans, let me catch you up on my activity. I did write another spontaneous poem! And edited it later. So it’s feeling good to have some unforced energy. After I sent you my last message, I realized that I’m feeling ambivalent about writing a poem a day for November. I can’t tell if it’s laziness or fear or what it is. So I need to think about that. I would like to do it, but I can tell that my “like” is not a commitment yet at all.

I’ve thought about all the ideas you mentioned: publishing a book or chapbook, joining a group, taking a class. My long term goal was being published – not self published – but “really” published. But that has shifted. The desire is still there, but my sense of what it would take in terms of writing quality and the push to get the work out there has changed the motivation. I’m not sure I have what it takes. Last night I thought of a theme under which I might create a chapbook to self publish and that feels more realistic to me. In my creative life I’m a drifter…I want to do what I want when I want it and wish things would magically appear. Or maybe I’m a dabbler.

So can we create a vision/goal for a fairly lazy dabbler who wants to be defined as creative? Or maybe the question becomes, can I be a creative dabbler who is satisfied with her work output however it comes?

Hmmm. That feels good.

Pamela

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Creativity Coaching: Dabble Away! at Flutter and Muse.

meta

