I Lost My Travel Mojo in Quebec…or “I have always depended on the kindness of strangers…”

June 16, 2010 § 10 Comments

Man, oh man. It’s been rough these past two weeks. So if you’re not in the mood to read a fair amount of grumbling and self pity, mixed with some jealousy, come back later, OK?

Right now, I’m sitting in a DC hotel room that overlooks the International Spy Museum. Oh my bags are packed and I’m ready to go… After being on the road for eight days, I’m finally heading home. But this is the second long trip this month – I spent six days in Quebec City earlier, first for business and then pleasure.  Good trip overall, although it hastened the death of my already teetering relationship. (Travel will do that, you know. Always good to travel before decisions are made.) Anyway,  it’s where I lost my travel mojo.

My mojo is usually good – strong, flexible, even lucky. So I really need it back. I got my first hint that it was missing when we landed in Austin. As we entered baggage claim, I realized that the package I had hand carried the whole trip (it had all my special gifts and souvenirs) was missing. Where did I leave it? Customs in Chicago? The bathroom in Quebec? After panicking (the second sign my mojo was gone) we (yes, there was still a we at this point) contacted the airline and it was returned. I was exhausted and embarrassed – I had left it under the seat.  OK, then all is well.

Not yet.  When we reached the parking lot, my car was missing. Yep. However, I soon determined that it hadn’t been stolen, it was my mojo again. Wrong lot and we can’t find the right one – we arrived home an hour and a half later than planned – 1:30am. 

I see I need to make this quicker…so I need to leave again for another eight day trip to Delaware and DC, and my computer is infected with a virus…and after Delaware, it succumbs completely. I have nothing. Hard to work with nothing. (Oh, by the way, in Delaware, the relationship ended. Long distance. And when I arrive in Delaware, I need antibiotics due to a raging infection. Are you getting the missing mojo stuff now?) 

But like Scarlett, I have survived – although not gracefully – due to kindness of strangers. The Austin airport sent a guy with a pick-up to help us find the car. My Delaware host printed my materials  and the hotel directed me to a walk-in clinic. In DC, a brilliant IT geek loaned me a laptop and reimaged mine. And my friend Marc Copeland had his first poem published – so envy got me working on one of mine again. (Congratulations, Marc!)

But here’s my question. How do I get my travel mojo back? And is anyone going to Quebec City soon so you can look around the airport for me? I’m sure I left it there.

(By the way, if you want to read grace in action and see how one can truly learn from adversity  – without  whining – visit Sonya Feyer’s blog. I’m jealous of her too, dammit.)

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to I Lost My Travel Mojo in Quebec…or “I have always depended on the kindness of strangers…”

  • Jason Piercy says:

    Well everything in Quebec City eventually moves down to Montreal, so I will be on the look out for it here and when it comes by I will catch it and mail it to you.

    As far as the relationship I agree travel can end one, I have been freed not of a relationship but of a friendship just by tranveling with that person, It is the best things that ever happened, I no longer have to listen to his whining and paranoid ramblings 3 times a day, haven’t spoken in five years , what a relief –

    Besides men are like buses you can always get off one and get on another !!!

  • Traveling (whether you are with your partner or not) is always a strenuous test upon a relationship. I’ve always claimed that any couple that can withstand The Amazing Race should just go ahead and get married.

    You still have your mojo Pamela, it’s just blocked. Try grounding and centering yourself a few times a day and your mojo will be back at your disposal in no time.

    Sorry (or should I not be?) about the relationship.

    • Thanks, Scott. The relationship wasn’t a good fit for long term, even though we both loved to travel. Ironic…

      Grounding and centering is a good suggestion. Right now I’m floating above the stress. :-)

  • Laurie says:

    Lol I think anyone would be losing their mojo after the week you’ve had. I dont’ know you, infact I just found your site through Networked blogs, but you sounded interesting… Traveling in itself is overwhelming, or at least it can be – but handling it with grace says a lot about a person. When you find yourself struggling after repeated letdowns and difficulties? It means you’re human. It’s ok. :P
    Thanks for an interesting walk through a day in the life. Hope things go better in the future, tho. (I’ll be checking out some of your writing a bit later)

  • thanks for the kindness of your friendship…

    maladies always pass, with time and patience and the love and tender affections of those who truly care for you, as we here do

    namaste

  • spamwarrior says:

    So sorry to hear, but so glad everything worked out all right. We all have those times =) and I’m sure you’ll get it back soon.

    I haven’t travelled for more than a couple of years, it feels. I don’t even think I have any travel mojo to spare.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Lost My Travel Mojo in Quebec…or “I have always depended on the kindness of strangers…” at Flutter and Muse.

meta

