On Hearing of the Gaza Ships While Visiting Quebec

May 31, 2010 § 6 Comments

 

Today I bought a hat
from a woman who loves heads.
A poet who earns her living
bringing beauty to the streets.

And today, far away,
ten people died.

I had no mourning band
to wrap around my sleeve,
so my hat is black.

In this cobblestoned village
where they honor death
with monuments and stones
and metal plaques and
vibrant flags, I mourn.

In my black hat
with gelato
in the rain.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to On Hearing of the Gaza Ships While Visiting Quebec

  • Thank you, everyone. This is painful in so many ways.

    I’m traveling today, so I’ll respond more when I’m safely home.

  • A beautiful and eloquent poem.

    I hope that this is the last straw in the west’s unquestioning support of Israel’s brutal military policies. The fact that this occurred in international waters will certainly help to finally sway public opinion.

    This is what the Bush/Cheney regime would have looked like if they had a tad more power.

  • christinereneecox says:

    Thank you, Pamela I am moved. Such tragedy, and also so important to our country and our world. I wonder how many people know. Or care. Or understand. You do. This poem tells me you do.

  • Stacye Carroll says:

    Maybe my favorite thing you’ve ever done…perfect

  • What a beautiful poem. I love the honest simple sadness of it.

  • threadzofblue says:

    Very nice.

    Hot weather awaits you when you return to Texas….

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On Hearing of the Gaza Ships While Visiting Quebec at Flutter and Muse.

meta

