April 19 ’10: At the Stake

April 19, 2010 § 7 Comments

This is pal week for me. Rall (whose Wordle contests are inspiring, if I do say so, and I won second place, but who’s bragging…) offers today’s ReadWritePoem’s prompt: write about a “lightbulb” moment.



At the Stake

One day the sunlight that flowed through my office blinds
was not enough to dull the pain that erupted from my clients’ mouths.
My carefully nurtured neutral stance ignored the dark –
not the deep night of our lunar goddess who nurtures and heals –
but Hades’ dank and mossy caverns that muffle moans and screams.
And in my beige neutrality, spiders hide, and beetles dug, and wasps stung.
I peeled off my tattered shield and faced the sun.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to April 19 ’10: At the Stake

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading April 19 ’10: At the Stake at Flutter and Muse.

meta

