April 16 ’10: They Say

April 16, 2010 § 4 Comments

Today’s ReadWritePoem prompt hit home with me – I’m sensitive to smell, and it can evoke powerful associations. The men’s cologne that repulsed me when I was pregnant (yes, I mean repulsed) still does.

Writing today’s poem was cathartic, and I thank my pups and Mary Oliver’s simplicity for inspiration.

They Say

They say
a real poet
doesn’t write
about dogs.
Too childish
and sentimental.
But I smell their
dense, rich scents
and know there is
no deeper
truer love.
I won’t refuse
my heart.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to April 16 ’10: They Say

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading April 16 ’10: They Say at Flutter and Muse.

meta

