April 10 ’10: Birthday

April 10, 2010 § 11 Comments

Celebrate? Me? Alas, I can turn even ReadWritePoem’s celebration prompt into a pondering.





Birthday

Feng Shui is my first and
ever present guest:  tinkling chimes
dangling crimson tassels,
stoically forcing luck into cobwebbed corners.

This is my day,
the day I was (long ago) born.
Eggplant parmesan and yellow cake.
My guests and I share wrinkles,
and wine, and translucence.
Thinning skin that pales into invisibility.

This was me:
A tiny, angelic speck watching
potential lives roll down an assembly line,
touching each gently with its
(figurative) finger – not this, perhaps that.
A clash, a battering of seed into
fragile egg, after a night of (unknown) sex.

This is us: mystery, alive, dying.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to April 10 ’10: Birthday

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading April 10 ’10: Birthday at Flutter and Muse.

meta

