Achieving Fame

March 24, 2010 § 30 Comments

I’ve done it: I have achieved fame.

At work, we’re launching a blog and one page will highlight employee’s personal blogs. Since I helped to create the work blog, mine will be showcased, and a creative co-worker sent me some interview questions. So here are all the things you’ve always wanted to know about me…right?  Meme, anyone?

How did you get started blogging?

A writer friend wanted to publish a collection of our short fiction and poetry, and I had heard that blogging was a good way to build an audience. We choose not to pursue the book, but I was hooked on blogging.

What does blogging mean to you?

It’s changed over time. At first, it was fun to learn how to create the site, and brand it effectively Then I made on-line friends, and joined the “blogosphere,” and the community was engaging. It also gave me a place to publish my work, with no strings attached, and to get feedback on it. Now, my blogging has slowed down a little, but I like it because it forces me to keep writing.

Do you have a blogging schedule?

I used to. What’s recommended is blogging a minimum of three times a week. (Hangs head guiltily.)

Which blogs do you visit most often or are your favorites?

Even though I write poetry, and am fairly intense and serious in my writing, my favorite bloggers have turned out to be comedians! I guess I appreciate the lightening up.

Do you have any advice for first time bloggers?

Of course. :-) Some things I learned from folks who are very expert are: Make every post have value; don’t only talk about yourself; ask your readers questions; comment on other people’s blogs, and answer the comments on yours. And, write about your passion, and let that passion show.

Why do you think blogging has become such a popular form of media?

Don’t we all want to listened to? And it’s free!

What do you think of (removed) starting a blog?

I love the idea. I think our communications methods are outdated and unwieldy. And (shh) boring.

Who or what would you like to see a blog about?

I can already find blogs about anything in the world, so….

How did you get started writing?

I’ve wanted to be a writer for a long time. Fifteen years ago, I wrote a self-help book, and got an agent, but he couldn’t sell it. But my secret desire was fiction writing, and I had no idea how to even get an idea. Then, several years ago, I joined a social networking site, and they had a writing group. I joined in, and wrote my first pieces, and haven’t looked back. I guess I should be writing this more flamboyantly, but, oh well.

What inspires you?

People, relationships, nature, and dogs.

Who are your writing influences?

I’m a bad writer; I don’t read enough to have primary influences. But lately I’ve been reading The Sun, Margaret Atwood, and I just finished an amazing book called Spooner.

Do you have a favorite piece that you’ve written so far? Why?

That’s too hard to answer. Sometimes I like my work, and sometimes I think it’s mediocre. But I like most of my babies – I just don’t think they’re great.

Do you have a motto or mantra you can share with us?

Yes. Can you guess where it’s from? “Never give up, never surrender.”

Any final thoughts you’d like to leave us with?

I feel famous now. Thanks. :-)

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 30 Responses to Achieving Fame

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Achieving Fame at Flutter and Muse.

meta

