For Writers: Sunday Morning Cheer – Not

January 17, 2010 § 13 Comments

There’s a fairly depressing – but also helpful – piece in the Wall Street Journal about unsolicited manuscripts that I ran across this morning.

I believe in facing reality, and yearn for the past.

Bottom line? Find an  agent, use the Internet, and build relationships if you want to be published. The slush pile belongs to the Ice Age.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 13 Responses to For Writers: Sunday Morning Cheer – Not

  • rallentanda says:

    I’ve just watched a doc on the ABC about two well known poets writing poetry.There are unpublished poets on the the RWP site who are so superior to these two.It’s all about social networking,and being mediocre.It has nothing to do with talent.I only go to second hand bookshops now .New published books are mainly rubbish!Where I live anyway!

  • seanfraser says:

    Pamela, your advice………”Bottom line? Find an agent, use the Internet, and build relationships if you want to be published.”………..I agree it’s the way to go. If you were a painter would you mail off your first ever work to the Louvre and expect them to take down a Rembrandt and hang up yours?….yes get a following first and see where that takes you.

  • shoutabyss says:

    Actually, as I was pondering your post, I had a very similar thought! Mostly, though, I was thinking about how I could possibly become a literary agent, sit back and rake in the dough!

  • shoutabyss says:

    So now you have to convince a literary agent that your work is worth pitching? That’s cold. I can’t help but think devious. What about the possibility of being your own agent, perhaps even under a pseudonym? You’d be plugging yourself, getting a built-in bonus, and possibly avoiding the slush pile all at the same time. :)

    • I had an idea awhile back that we should form coops – and those who are good at “agenting” can agent for the coop and those of us who can edit can edit – and that we can do these things to support each other.

      What do you think?

  • I’m totally with B on this one. You see the stuff that get’s published, you see the absolute shit that hit’s the airwaves…and it just guts you.

    I’ll never give up or give in though. And I really hope we can all keep pushing ahead. Something will give…..soon!

  • bschooled says:

    Wow.

    That is pretty depressing, isn’t it?

    I think what bugs me the most is the amount of crap that actually does get published.

    • That’s so true. I recently finished reading a very popular novel, and although the story line was good, the writing was average. It shocked me a bit because I had just reading several Margaret Atwood books, and expected the same from something so widely known.

  • Linda says:

    Yes, I read that article. Of course, the agents on Twitter loved that it highlighted their importance. They also pointed out that THEIR slush piles are a different story.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading For Writers: Sunday Morning Cheer – Not at Flutter and Muse.

meta

