Nov 28 09: Desert Dreams

November 29, 2009 § 7 Comments

I’m feeling a bit sad. Today is the last day of my vacation, and I feel the weight of Monday. And my dream last night was powerful: I had a job I loved, but complained and blew an assignment.  Message? Shut up and do it. It’s one I needed to hear – not pleasant, but important.

This poetry month has been that in many ways for me. As I reach the end, I find that I am writing about my most painful loss (if you have been reading the whole month, the obvious theme is relationship and loss) – it has taken me this long to write it. So for these last days, I’m shutting up and doing it.

Poetic Asides prompt: For today’s prompt, I want you to take the phrase “Through this (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write your poem.

I chose “Through this merging…”

 

Once bitten twice shy does not apply
to love. I crave its kalamata bite,
its pungent feta breath, the honeyed
kiss of dates and baklava. My last
lover, a nomad prince with tribal scars,
hand fed me, and lay me on scatter rugs
woven by his dying mother.
He would leave the tent flap open
to hear her cries while his weight
would muffle mine.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Nov 28 09: Desert Dreams

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nov 28 09: Desert Dreams at Flutter and Muse.

meta

