Nov 24 09: Fangs and Thorns

November 24, 2009 § 8 Comments

The title of this poem should be “Nobody says don’t do it,” which was my inspiration for Fangs and Thorns. Today’s prompt was the Tuesday Two for One, and one choice was to use a phrase that begins “Nobody says…” for the title. But it isn’t powerful enough for this piece.

 

 

 

He brought me roses, long-stemmed and red,
sorcerer’s wands that foretold our future.
I found them swinging from my porch light – 
elongated bats with savage crimson lips;
he created a noose so they would not stray.
The defenseless things licked my head
as I passed under them. I could not ignore
the shivering creatures – it was not their fault
that they were chosen, just as it was not mine –
so I took them in.  When a lover brings roses,
fangs and thorns are invisible.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Nov 24 09: Fangs and Thorns

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nov 24 09: Fangs and Thorns at Flutter and Muse.

meta

