Nov 21 09: TV Days

November 21, 2009 § 14 Comments

Vacation! Staycation! Or as my Canadian friends have told me – Balconyville! No excuses for not writing prolifically, except I’m so busy doing nothing, ahh…

Today’s prompt (Aren’t you tired of this yet? I promise to write something different when this month is done.) is to write an invention poem. I was a sci fi fan in my teens and 20s and grew up on Issac Asimov and Ray Bradbury. Of course there were less literary influences, too, as you can read below.

 

From my TV days of old, it’s the Jetsons
that still live with me: Astro’s bark, flying cars,
Rosie the Robot who nannied and kept house.
I see myself in that automatic world,
where dining needs are met by magic dumbwaiters;
we order in, whispering to the shimmering wall exactly
what we want (fragrant coconut Thai for me, and smoky
Bar-B-Que for you). Rosie beeps, and glides in
to clear our plates; she brings the honey vodka
shots the magic wall spits out. We yawn and stretch,
peeling off our clothes (Rosie huffs away) and I retreat
to change my hair: Shall I be an upswept red tonight
or a flippy blond? Or perhaps a brunette Barbie bob?
I try them all, and choose the perfect one –
making sure that I don’t look anything like me.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 14 Responses to Nov 21 09: TV Days

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nov 21 09: TV Days at Flutter and Muse.

meta

