Nov 20 09: And then we were none

November 20, 2009 § 2 Comments

Today’s Poetic Asides prompt is as open-ended as you can get: “take the phrase “And then (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make that the title of your poem, and then, write your poem.”

Good enough.

 

It’s a goddamn revolving door, the one
that guards the passage to my heart. The
gilded signs we painted on its frame
retain their dusky gleam, and I forget to paint.
They tattoo the house and announce
that we were here. That we were here.

Inside this almost vacant home, there is
peace. You only disturb me in my dreams.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Nov 20 09: And then we were none

  • Neil Reid says:

    Wow!

    Have I come to this regards commentary? Shameful! Am I running out of words? You’re not! If only I were a publisher, you’d be getting a letter from me. Please, please, on the dotted line, your handprint please!

    I am so curious what it would be to stand right beside your poems (maybe you, maybe your thoughts and feelings). I wonder how it would feel, just that close. These poems really pull the ear in, just like that, close. These poems create a space that wants to be filled, yet it is allowed to be as it is, and therein, their “attactiveness”, their unique gravity!

    Good enough!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nov 20 09: And then we were none at Flutter and Muse.

meta

