Nov 18 09: Sever the Line

November 19, 2009 § 10 Comments

So, to lift your spirits (and in accordance to the prompt “write an attachment poem“), I offer Sever the Line. Tell me you haven’t been there. Go on – I dare you.

(I know it’s not really a spirit lifter. Unless it makes you want to to imbibe.)

 

 

Sever the line, you say, just do it. And so I do.
I take my sharpest knife and slice it swiftly,
but after the cut, there’s  a problem –  
it grows back. I try once more, a different angle,
furiously hack through the silver rope.
There, it’s done! As I turn to walk away,
I trip, and there it is again: the cord that binds
me to you, thicker now, braided strands of steel,
daring me to let you go.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Nov 18 09: Sever the Line

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nov 18 09: Sever the Line at Flutter and Muse.

meta

