Nov 12 09: If only you weren’t here…

November 12, 2009 § 10 Comments

corimages0426734217453413-bubble-bath-thumbStraight from Robert Lee Brewer’s mouth ( or typing): For today’s prompt, I want you to take the phrase “If only (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make that the title of your poem, and then, write your poem.

 

 

If only you weren’t here

 

The bathwater is rising. I light
lavender to summon inner peace.
Now bubbles, pinkish crystals
left over from last year.
The froth is high, peachy-pale,
not yet streaked with red.
I’m not much for prayers
but this…
I disrobe.
My rounded middle hides
my freshly polished toes;
once I’m in the tub they pop
like unripe cherries floating in a bucket.
I tilt my head back; the peachy
foam fills my ears and I hear the
inside of a shell.
I am a mermaid with a belly filled with you.
For one more day.

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Nov 12 09: If only you weren’t here…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nov 12 09: If only you weren’t here… at Flutter and Muse.

meta

