Nov 10 09: Love and Anti-Love

November 10, 2009 § 2 Comments

babcI had no idea how to address today’s Poetic Asides prompt ( a choice to write a love poem or an anti-love poem), so I got weird and decided to play with an alphabet poem. I listed in alphabetical order attributes associated with “anti-love” and wrote a poem with one word per line in alphabetical order. The words are capitalized. (Did I cheat? Only a little – I changed three or four of the original words.)

It’s quite odd- I don’t expect you to enjoy it, although I had a lot of fun writing it.

 

Alphabet Poem: Love and Anti-Love

Fertilized by Apathy, our bed lies fallow; although
occasional Boredom wets the sheets. We are intimate
with Condescension – a sweet-lipped tart who loves
to claim the room – but Dullness
often joins, draining us with Exacting explanation.

Is this the day we can be Fickle? When we can
forget the Grandiose dreams of buried
Hidden treasures, or is it simply self-
Indulgent to wish that we be free?

Joyless is my heart, and its vessels clotted hard;
Knowledge does not clear its paths.
My Lovelessness loves none, and
true love beats Monotonous:
It asks for Nothing and it begs for everything;
it is Obstinate in that regard. Feed me, true love cries,
and in its Peculiar prissy dance, it lives  
Quixotic, ignoring risks and bleeds. I know
its Ragged valves will always fail, and
soon its mistress is Saddened and alone.   

But now I am tired of this Tepid rain – I want an
Unforgiving thunderstorm! Bring me back to life, blow 
my clots and weeds away – they are Valueless to me!  
I now pronounce them Worthless and I pledge (should I be  
found alive) to eXtend my heart to you – 
it Yields in breathless anticipation – and
that, my love, is our blessing from Złota.*

*Złota – Polish name meaning “golden.” In mythology, Złota Baba (“golden woman”) is the name of a goddess of oracles who grants visions in gold.”

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Nov 10 09: Love and Anti-Love

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nov 10 09: Love and Anti-Love at Flutter and Muse.

meta

