Nov 8 09: Let’s Say I Do

November 8, 2009 § 4 Comments

zilker-parkToday’s Poetic Asides prompt is I want you to take the phrase “Should (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make that the title of your poem, and write your poem.

I spent the morning at Austin’s Town Lake and Zilker Park with a friend, walking my wild pup. My friend suggested I write about the walk for today’s poem, and it’s hard for me to resist a challenge.  I didn’t follow the rules about the title, but the body of the work follows the prompt.

 

 

Let’s Say I Do

Should we be walking with my pup and he runs away,
would you follow him?
Or would you fume and pout leaving me to chase him down?
Let’s say you do and then he and I return,
should I crack a joke to shatter your response?
Let’s say I do but your sky blue eyes develop cataracts –
they freeze instead of thaw –
should I turn and walk away? Or should I tell you straight?
Let’s say I do.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Nov 8 09: Let’s Say I Do

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nov 8 09: Let’s Say I Do at Flutter and Muse.

meta

