Nov 6 09: I’ve Got It Covered

November 7, 2009 § 3 Comments

cottonwoodNovember 6th’s Poetic Asides prompt had me struggling.

Robert Lee Brewer asked for a poem with (or about) someone (or something) covered. All I could think about was my large cottonwood tree’s canopy and the phrase “I’ve got it covered.”  Then I got it in my head that I wanted to do a poem that used repetition – don’t ask me why.

I’ve Got It Covered uses all three.

 

I’ve got it covered like the cottonwood covers the house.
Except when the limbs fall off and
my mouth runs dry and
no rain’s forecast.

I’ve got it covered like the faded duvet covers our bed.
Except when my toes are cold with
the thinness that comes from
years on the mend.  

I’ve got it covered like my paycheck covers the bills.
Except when my job disappears and
the mortgage is due and
you’re not around.

I’ve got it covered.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Nov 6 09: I’ve Got It Covered

  • rallentanda says:

    Another good poem Pam Villars.I like your faded duvet. I like mine too. It is difficult managing on you own but the minute you decide you don’t want to be … you wont be.A drop dead gorgeous poet has choices.

  • Linda says:

    I just wanted to drop in and say I’ve been enjoying your poem a day efforts. I admire your ability to listen to a prompt and hear a poem.

    This one speaks to me of the facades we adopt. The brave fronts. Yet sometimes we can fool ourselves until it’s true.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nov 6 09: I’ve Got It Covered at Flutter and Muse.

meta

