Nov 5 09: Navigation

November 6, 2009 § 7 Comments

ship_compass_and_mapPoetic Asides prompt: write a poem about growth.  (I am growing in fatigue – does that count? ) I am working on a theme that seems to center on home, family, loss. So bear with me – it may be a heavy month. :-)

 

No, she says, I’m going alone.
Her voice navigates the grief.

Yesterday, she left a note –
So this is what it’s like to grow up.

I wasn’t there to hold her,
She dropped by and was gone.

The folders in my desk are
Filled with her scribbles

Lined tablets with poems
And apologies and requests

But this is the first good-bye.

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Nov 5 09: Navigation

  • Thank you everyone for your generous comments. They keep me going!

    No pressure here. :-)

    But really, thanks and no pressure.

  • G says:

    Hi Pamela,

    I just wanted to throw out a general comment in that I’m really impressed that you can write such great poetry like this for consecutive days (I’m assuming this is the 30 poems in 30 days thing that you did last year).

    Keep up the good work and I’m looking forward to reading more of them.

  • Neil Reid says:

    Oh Pamela, I’ll grin and bear it with you! If this turns to be where you land, no problem at all. Intensity, sadness included, I don’t mind at all when expressed honestly, purposely.

    This poem is utterly beautiful! All of it so well expressed. Without even the burden of details, the movement of feelings is so concise and clear.

    All good, but “The folders in my desk are Filled with her scribbles” is so quietly provocative and sentimental (in the best sense of the word). And it just beautifully sets up for the ending line too. Do you suppose there’s something wrong with commenting by more words than the poem uses itself! (I’ll contain myself later.) Poem well done!

  • seanfraser says:

    I think I know that feeling and it reminds me of of another feeling I have sometimes “…how swift your departure how slow your return..” maybe you could use it as a ‘request prompt’ and do a poem

  • rallentanda says:

    Well, this is a good poem.I don’t think I’ll stop by as often.Your deep and grown up poetry makes my PAD seem like vacuous diary entries which indeed they are!Must resolve to go deeper:)

  • Sketches of a man says:

    This is lovely and charming. I am fascinated by the pensive allure of this!

    Kindest Wishes,

  • shoutabyss says:

    Powerful, moving and a bit sad.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nov 5 09: Navigation at Flutter and Muse.

meta

