Nov 3 09: Early Wake

November 4, 2009 § 5 Comments

img_0986Yesterday’s prompt (Two for Tuesday) was a choice to write a positive poem or a negative poem.  I spent all day in an intense strategic planning meeting with my new team (I survived the lay-offs and am now in the “learning about my new job” phase) and the evening at a team-building bowling/Italian dinner event.  No time for poeting.

But I woke at 5am – wonder why? So here’s yesterday’s prompt – a very rough draft.  Now I’ve gotta go! Another day of strategic planning lies ahead.

Early Wake

In this light-low wake
I cling to the monster’s neck.
We sway, we lumber,
pressing troughs for future
generations.

I spy: dreams, lush grasses,
melting ice. My touch is
lighter than a gnat, my pillow
rougher than its hide.
Hush.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Nov 3 09: Early Wake

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nov 3 09: Early Wake at Flutter and Muse.

meta

