Read Write Poem: Confection

September 16, 2009 § 22 Comments

JSC%20970702%20Red%20Clover%202Several friends told me recently that they read my blog to see what’s happening in my life. I admit it – I often treat it as memoir. So it’ll be no surprise to you that I used my couch-eating dog to meet Read Write Poem’s prompt.

And be sure to read other poets’ responses to this prompt.

 

Confection

Confection lies in the taste
of the eater; while I’m dreaming

of poetry and Alaska, glass beads
and toddlers, my pup delicately

dines on the faded violet-clover
couch that was my after-marriage

treat. He selects the choicest
bits: Styrofoam, fabric, wood.

My loss is his chocolate –  
bitter-sweet morsels remain.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 22 Responses to Read Write Poem: Confection

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Read Write Poem: Confection at Flutter and Muse.

meta

