I love my Times

August 2, 2009 § 9 Comments

02love-190Today, I’m in love with the New York Times – or at least, one of its pieces. I’m not intimidated, I’m in awe of the writer’s insight and balance. May we all have her grace and patience.

Don’t miss Those Aren’t Fighting Words, Dear by Laura A. Munson.

Illustration by Christopher Silas Neal.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to I love my Times

  • marstead says:

    That is one wise woman who also writes beautifully. I think I’m in love. Too bad [?] she’s happily married (and am I).

    • Yes, I agree. I’d like a man with this wisdom, so I can have my little fits of independence and it be OK. :-)

      But if you’re happily married, I bet you already have something quite close.

  • tannerleah says:

    Wow…six months of going around acting like a class A jerk and getting away with it? I need to test that out on my wife.

  • Julie says:

    I, too, love the Times.

    This woman – I don’t know if I could have held it together with such generosity. Would have spent much time screaming into a pillow although understanding the issue of pride.

    • I know. I think I would have had to do a lot of silent screaming and hold the intent. She alluded to it, I think.

      Generosity is the key. I wonder how long one can be that generous? Ah, but she did set a time limit – six months. That’s reasonable to me.

  • Neil Reid says:

    A definition if I may. Love is the unconditional acceptance of another for exactly who and how they are. Maybe not the common definition, but I’ll take this any day over the alternatives I’ve yet ever heard. Here is a living demonstration of precisely that sort of regard and love, accepted that way.

    So oft at the first sign of a seeming conflict or upset, our response is to fix the problem or correct a perceived misunderstanding or simply deny the situation by one of many means, “No, it’s not what you think it is.” All of which deny the validity of the other person. Here instead, she kept herself intact, allowed her husband really to be as he was, AND remained true to the vow of their relationship. It is good to witness this clarity, conviction and love so expressed.

    Thank you Pamela for bringing out this article for us to see.

    • I think you expressed this perfectly, Neil. I hope I can remember her wisdom when/if the time comes.

      • Neil Reid says:

        If you save it all up in a box, I think it might be empty when you open it.

        I suppose if we honestly took this stance of full regard, day by day by day, maybe then that “day” would never be around to arrive. Or if it did, there’d be nothing to remember because you’re already there. You think? Practice, huh?

        Claiming no mastery, but intention, yes.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I love my Times at Flutter and Muse.

meta

