I am Mira

June 11, 2009 § 18 Comments

imagesOne thing I was able to do before my high speed connection was destroyed last week was answer the Drash Pit question, “What was the book that changed your life?”

Neena Husid’s themes are often too much for me – too wide, too free.  After I read them, I feel as if I’m alone on a prairie, teased by the whistling wind with nothing in sight.  But I immediately knew my response to this one: The Women’s Room by Marilyn French. It has been on my mind since I recently learned in one of my favorite Austin  blogs – Midlife Jobhunter – that Ms. French had died.

I am Measured by Mira.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 18 Responses to I am Mira

  • Interesting question PV, for me it was a college textbook, an anthology of short fiction. It changed the way I viewed English and writing in general—I happened to have a great professor as well. I still have this four pound book on my shelf and just two weeks ago pulled it down and re-read Jack London’s “To Build a Fire.”

    • FJ, I wish I’d had a teacher like that in school. Was it filled with different styles? To me, it is freeing to know there are so many ways to make writing alive.

      (And yet you became a scientist…)

      • My interest in reading and writing has been a big help to me in my biological career. The sciences are full of poor writers unfortunately, but I have found a niche doing lots of technical editing, which helps me keep a job…which a good thing.

        • That makes sense, FJ.

          I thought I was a good writer until I started learning about it – the old ‘I didn’t know how much I didn’t know.’ Now my business writing has improved and I remove many adverbs. :-)

          The sad thing is that I was better (before I got better) than most of my colleagues.

  • pochp says:

    Can you elaborate on how the book changed your life Pam?
    Alan- If you’re referring to Tom Sharpe the crime comedy writer, I admire him too.

    • alantru says:

      Cheers pochp,

      It’s funny, I never thought of him a crime comedy writer, but now that you mention it, all three Wilt books included the put upon Inspector Flint!

    • Pochp, it showed me the history of women’s roles in the US and how they impact us in an incredibly personal way – women can live their lives dying inside or not – but either way there is a high price to pay. It also helped me see the unwritten roles and expectations placed on us by society and by doing so, offered me choice.

      • pochp says:

        I see. If I were a woman, I think the impact would be the same.
        Now don’t misunderstand Pam. Even if I’m male, I still see the positivity.

        • Pochp, you understand. I hope I didn’t imply that a man would not. I bet men who read it learned a lot about how women experience their lives.

          If there’s a book that does this for men, please let me know. I’d be interested in reading it.

  • alantru says:

    The book for me was “Wilt” by Tom Sharpe. Tom Sharpe is by no means the greatest writer I’ve read but no one ever made me laugh like he could. It was riotous, it was bawdy, it was obscene, it was black comedy and it was beautiful.

  • pochp says:

    Hi Pam,
    Is French’s book a religious one that it changed your life?
    Because I’d be surprised if it isn’t!

  • DOMINO says:

    Ha. Loved that interview with Marilyn. She’s so surly. Hehehe!

    I don’t think I ever did read the Women’s Room…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I am Mira at Flutter and Muse.

meta

