Day 14 – Leaving

April 14, 2009 § 5 Comments

jungle_cockscomb_mainThere are many ways of leaving and being left; today’s prompt was a choice between love and anti-love. You decide.

 

 

This is you when I am near –
you are brash and sullen, you pout and
fret, you tell me I am living in the past.

If I am living in the past, it’s a time
devoid of you. It’s one where you
do not exist – one where we have never met.

You say to me you’ll never leave – I think,
(no, hope) that you are wrong. You fling yourself
upon the ground, apelike rubbing sticks for heat.

I have the match…I offer it to you, but you
shriek and bouncing-bound into
the trees, swinging high, pounding chest,

shouting that you’ll never leave. You are bird high
and I am wet ground. Huddled in my tent,
surrounded by encroaching night.

Writer’s Digest prompt April 14, 2009

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Day 14 – Leaving

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 14 – Leaving at Flutter and Muse.

meta

