Ode to Artemis

April 8, 2009 § 2 Comments

moonDay 8 of A Poem a Day. The prompt is “a routine.”

 

 

 

I’m the kind who wakes and
wishes it was night again, my earthly clock
set for indigo eves and brilliant moons.


I empty as Artemis slumbers,
the womb that sustains me leaking fluid
until she can return.  


Each morn, Apollo trails his finger down
my reluctant spine and I pray the words
that wedge me into his day –  


Today I am joyous, happy and
free. I’m productive, I’m in sync with

the universe. Laughing, he pulls me up and forces
 
me to the sink. I’m parched in his primrose
haze, and he watches as I
apply my blush. Good, he says, you look rosy.

Artemis stirs, and shyly I whisper
my apology – the words, my prayers, you know they
are for you.


She smiles and drifts and dreams.

 

Writer’s Digest prompt April 8, 2009

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Ode to Artemis

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ode to Artemis at Flutter and Muse.

meta

