It’s Been a Year

April 5, 2009 § 4 Comments

3720-209620year-old20womanMy belated posting for the April 2 prompt about “an outsider.”

 

 


She waits not-so-patiently by
the phone, willing it to ring. It’s been a year, and then
another, since the feeling first began – the sense that perhaps it
would never ring again. The daughters
older now, with families of their own, tracking tears
and chasing dogs, activities she abhors. As she
waits, for the never-ringing of the phone, she remembers:
I don’t like children.

 

Writer’s Digest prompt April 2, 2009

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to It’s Been a Year

  • alantru says:

    Thanks Pamela,

    I hesitated about writing that… But then remembered a writing teacher who said that the reader’s interpretation of a poem/or a story may not always be what the artist had in mind – but that there was validity in it. Of course, he said it far more eloquently than that.

    The main thing (for me anyway) is that I really enjoy reading your work.

    So… Clearly this is working out well for me. :)

    • Oh, I’m so glad you did. Any new take is great. I’ve had people tell me occasionally they saw lots of intense design and wondered how I thought of it – and I wished I had!

      And thank you. You’ve got a big fan here too.

  • alantru says:

    Very nice, as always, Pamela. You effectively create lonely despair… And then you surprised me with a laugh.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s Been a Year at Flutter and Muse.

meta

