Pantoum “Dog”

April 4, 2009 § 5 Comments

weezie-with-globe1Since I’ve never studied or practiced poetic form, I’m using weekend prompts to pick a form and write with it. Pantoum uses repeating phrases in a specific order. The Writer’s Digest prompt is “using an animal’s name as the title.” Thanks for bearing with me (yes, I caught the pun) as I stumble my way though this.

 

My dream is to return
as a dog that I might own,
a life of luscious luxury:
treats and love and walks.

As a dog that I might own,
I would dream of running bold,
treats and love and walks:
these are my owner’s hopes as well.

I would dream of running bold
into warm and waiting arms, fulfilling
all my owner’s hopes:
living sweet with me alone.

Into warm and waiting arms
he leaps, high and bold and frisky-free,
living sweet with me alone:
for we are one, my dog and me.

The two of us a family,
A life of luscious luxury,
Oh please let him return to me,
My dream is to return.

Writer’s Digest prompt April 4, 2009

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Pantoum “Dog”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pantoum “Dog” at Flutter and Muse.

meta

