S.P.O.G.G. and National Grammar Day

February 28, 2009 § 2 Comments

150x200ngdlogo

Who knew? There’s finally a club I want to be a member of: The Society for the Promotion of Good Grammar. Their mission? To tackle “problems that can be solved by everyday people with red pens and a little moxie.”

They say “SPOGG is for people who crave good, clean English — sentences cast well and punctuated correctly. It’s about clarity. And who knows how many of the world’s huge problems could be solved if we had a little more of that?”

And even better, they sponsor  National Grammear Day – March 4 – an annual event. I am so in!

What should we do to honor this event? My first thought is to openly correct at least one error that day, in the most courteous way possible, of course. I usually ignore and/or correct it myself – if I have editing privileges – without telling the author about their error.

Ideas?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to S.P.O.G.G. and National Grammar Day

  • nursemyra says:

    just head to the nearest greengrocer’s. there’s always lots of apple’s and pear’s and tomatoe’s to correct there

    • Thanks for dropping by, nursemyra, and for the great suggestion. I forgot about the grocery – it’s a perfect choice (a bit less risky than correcting my peers) and I was planning on going that day. I’ll do it – we’ll see if the manager lets me back afterwards!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading S.P.O.G.G. and National Grammar Day at Flutter and Muse.

meta

