What’s the Theme?

February 7, 2009 § 8 Comments

274974704_97794ecdca_m2A new poem came to me today, as I waited in the drive-in lane at the bank. I was only able to scribble a few preliminary words before it was my turn to cash my check, but my visitor settled in and is waiting for me to return home and invite her in.

In her honor, I looked up the theme and found this delicious poem by Jose Wendell Capili. Theme? Can you guess without Googling?

I have waited for the years to melt down
your overgrown nettles, sweet dew, magic
flowers stretching to a hundred leagues
on paddies and green mountains.
This is how the wind flies up to my ears.
Midnights are always sad, nobody recites
the sutra of clouds glistening with rain.
They stood for promises you did not keep,
for all the mindless gazing at my lowness,
my shameful ways, the absence of roots,
leaves and branches in my family tree.
This misery takes me to a point of death
ruffling down huts clustered in the dusk.
Perhaps, I can fish on the next sea,
push open the morning door and emerge
like petals from a shower.

                                                                                                                 Photo credit: buchan

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Tagged: , , ,

§ 8 Responses to What’s the Theme?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What’s the Theme? at Flutter and Muse.

meta

