Who’s Your Editor?

January 24, 2009 § Leave a comment

yogabalance1I’m lucky.

I have a sister who’s an academic and loves to read. A few months ago, I was at her house for the weekend and put together a submission for a yoga journal. I asked her to read it  – it was my personal story about becoming a vegetarian – and she gave me great support: noting awkward phrasing, repetitive and/or confusing content, neglected punctuation, you name it.

Even better, she’s bluntly honest, so when she told me it held her interest, I knew I was on the right track.

That weekend, I hired her as my editor. She’s now helping me with the second article for the journal, a slightly scholarly take on the religious origins of vegetarianism. It’s much better with her edits and suggestions.

Who is your editor? Or do you write alone?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Who’s Your Editor? at Flutter and Muse.

meta

