For Good Readers, Even What is Not Written Resonates

January 14, 2009 § 9 Comments

france-food-diningA few days ago, someone sent me an email about one of my short pieces. She said that it had been difficult to read and she felt almost uncomfortable about seeing me as a child so clearly.  My response was that she was on target – that I had been a sensitive child – but was impressed at her intuition: I hadn’t written a word about my childhood in the story.

Here’s my point: trust yourself and your readers. If we take care with our words and place our hearts on the page, even what is not written resonates. Our readers want us to touch them and if we reach out, they will receive.

It’s like cooking with love for someone we love.  It just tastes better.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to For Good Readers, Even What is Not Written Resonates

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading For Good Readers, Even What is Not Written Resonates at Flutter and Muse.

meta

