Friends and Edits: Enemies of Laziness

December 16, 2008 § 6 Comments

feedback-779099It took me a long time to let people read my work. It took even longer for me to read their comments without wincing in advance. But now, I welcome them. For I’ve learned that most remarks have merit, and even if I disagree, they force me to think about my choices.

Some people are naturals at offering constructive criticism, but some of us need to learn how to do it.

My first introduction to giving feedback was from author and teacher Adair Lara. Her site, Matchwriters.com, has this info on the art of feedback.

Last night, a friend critiqued a new short story I wrote; to our surprise, every place she told me was awkward or unclear was a spot I had struggled over. As I told her, “Damn, I knew these weren’t right, but I hoped they were good enough,” I realized again the value of good critique.

We should never stop at “good enough.”

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Friends and Edits: Enemies of Laziness

  • creeping says:

    It took even longer for me for me to read their comments without wincing in advance.

    Presumably, the use of “for me” twice was an oversight or intentional. Right?

    • Pamela Villars says:

      See how far I’ve come? Instead of wincing at my mistake, I’m laughing at myself! Thanks – wanna be my editor?

  • art predator says:

    yes yes yes so true

    it seems most of the poetry sites i know give only postive feedback and yes i love to roll in the poop too

    then i took one of the poems and read it at an open and it fell on the ground… a live audience is honest in a different way! silence says more than gratuitous feedback

    i will ahve to check out these sites that provide constructive criticism as tricky as it is to give and get

    • Pamela Villars says:

      Oh, I hope if you find a good poetry critique site, you let me know, so I can visit; I haven’t searched for one.

      I write some poetry, but have never studied the forms, and so would be afraid to post!

  • Pamela Villars says:

    Beautifully said. Thank you, beeha.

  • beeha says:

    …Ah!, In-deed….

    It is the bon juste that we all seek and struggle 4

    …worth all we endure in the search …

    –beeha, http://2cob.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Friends and Edits: Enemies of Laziness at Flutter and Muse.

meta

