Save or Submit?

December 3, 2008 § 1 Comment

submit  At the side of this WordPress “write post” webpage are two words: Save and Publish. I’m a better saver than publisher; lots of poems and short stories live in my hard drive. Publish means I need to send them out. Ugh.

There are so many choices of possible publications and I’m easily overwhelmed.

One thing I have done is create a simple Excel spreadsheet with a couple columns to track my submissions and their status. But, when I decide to get serious, I’ll use LitMatch, a free online service that offers a variety submission tracking tools and an agent matching service.

Now’s a good time to join, too, for they’re doing their first LitMatch Anniversary Giveaway. Prizes include a Gotham’s Writers’ Workshop Online Sales class and yearly subscriptions to several writing magazines.

Time for me to register. And stop procrastinating on submissions.

How do you identify who to send to?  I’d love to hear your secrets about how to sort through the options. Or do you have a different tracking service that you like better?

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Save or Submit?

  • fishclamor says:

    i have no idea how to make myself send out submissions. so i just decided to be happy with publishing my site. i hope that doesn’t mean i can’t get published in print…but i can’t make myself do it either. all the corners of my house are stacking up with art, poems, stories. how do you get someone to help you get the stuff out?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Save or Submit? at Flutter and Muse.

meta

