How Short is Too Short?

November 15, 2008 § Leave a comment

rws-00-fool   I’m guilty.

Of being brief, too brief.

In school, my professors always sent to back my essays with the note “please elaborate” or “needs more explanation”.  And, try as I did to stretch my words, I never got those 10 pagers past 7; good for the teacher’s reading time, bad for my grades.

So, I love flash and microfiction, where short is the goal. I found my dream requirements today in True Stories Told In One Sentence.

Looking to see what would come next, I found 55 words, and then worked my up to 100 words or less.

Next stop, Six Sentences, and then an interesting compilation of microfiction at The Microfiction Mini Site.

As Phil Gardner says, “And to think some people write novels. The fools.”

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How Short is Too Short? at Flutter and Muse.

meta

