Holy Unexpected

November 11, 2008 § Leave a comment

108511   No, really, Holy Unexpected is what I spent half of my weekend reading (the half not spent following dust bunnies). The memoir chronicles Robin Chotzinoff’s transformation into an “unorthodox” Jew.

I know Robin from her local Firepit Minyan, and had the uncanny experience of feeling as though I had a roommate all weekend.  I heard her voice in every word; it was as if she followed me from room to room, reading to me out loud. Satiric and moving, honest and hysterical, it’s just like her.

For me, learning about the major tenets of a religion can be challenging – a bit like breathing through a straw underwater. Somehow now I feel enlightened, inhaling deeply in a lovely unorthodox way.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Holy Unexpected at Flutter and Muse.

meta

