REDRUM! or A Memoir of the Craft?

October 30, 2008 § 2 Comments

  It’s the time of year to let ghosts out of the closet…or at least our love for them. In my case it’s both.

I found myself telling a friend last night about poltergeist activity that’s been happening in my house over the past several years and visits from my long dead cat.  Witnesses? Me and my daughter, so it means we’re either sensitive or loony and perhaps a bit of both.

Then, at an early Halloween celebration at work – REDRUM! was the bloody scrawl on a sheet next to a gory display, flinging me into King’s The Shining with its terrifying MURDER spelled backwards. My other supernatural favorite is King’s The Stand (this is the 30th anniversary of its publication).  I spent many happy years reading Stephen King as he drew me into the crimson heart and soul of evil.

More recently,  though, I’ve been inhaling Mr. King’s On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft and have been taken by its honesty and simplicity. It’s gold.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to REDRUM! or A Memoir of the Craft?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading REDRUM! or A Memoir of the Craft? at Flutter and Muse.

meta

